Each of the provinces in South Africa has a hunting ordinance and proclamations related to the hunting of animals in that province.

The proclamation is updated on an annual basis.

This states the following regulation in terms of hunting for a specific year.

  • Various areas in a particular province
  • Dates when a specific animal may be hunted
  • Daily bag limit of a particular animal
  • Prohibited methods of hunting
  • The types of species which may be hunted
  • The license type required to hunt

Generally, there are two type of hunting farms. Ones classified as open farms and the other classified as farms with a certificate of adequate enclosure (CAE).

Hunting on open farms must be done strictly in accordance with the annual hunting proclamation.

These farms are deemed to have animals on them that are free roaming. They only belong to the farm whilst on the farm and if they jump the fence, they no longer belong to that farmer.

Farms with a certificate of adequate enclosure (CAE) however, is not regulated in certain terms of the proclamation.

For one, animals on such farms may be hunted throughout the year as the animals are no longer free roaming but belong to the farmer. Hunters hunting on such farm still need a valid hunting license required for the province the farm is situated in.

There are also three type of animals that can be legally hunted.

All wild animals are deemed to be protected animals.

In certain circumstances, some of these animals can be added to the Threatened or Protected (TOPS) list. Over and above the normal hunting license, you need an additional permit to hunt an animal on the TOPS list, the farm owner applies for this permit.

There is also a classification for damage causing animals and for these you do not require a hunting license but you would need permission from the farmer to hunt them.

Normal hunting hours are one hour after sunrise and one hour before sunset.

Protected animals may not be hunted with artificial light and a hunter must ensure to apply the correct caliber for the animal he is going to hunt to ensure a one shot kill.

No hunting may take place with a semi-automatic rifle or shotgun. This practice is against the law.

There are also three type of animals that can be legally hunted.

All wild animals are deemed to be protected animals.

Purpose of TOPS Regulations:

  • Regulate the permit system set out in Chapter 7 of the Biodiversity Act;
  • Registration of captive breeding operations, commercial exhibition facilities, game farms, nurseries, scientific institutions, sanctuaries and rehabilitation facilities and wildlife traders;
  • Regulate hunting;
  • Prohibit specific activities;
  • Protection of wild populations, in particular cycads; and
  • Provide for a Scientific Authority

Application of TOPS Regulations:

These regulations are only applicable to the TOPS listed species listed as:

  • Critically endangered species (only indigenous)
  • Endangered species (only indigenous)
  • Vulnerable species (only indigenous)
  • Protected species (currently only indigenous species listed but may include alien species).

Prohibited activities in hunting can be classified in terms of the following:

  • Poison;
  • Snares;
  • Automatic weapons, .22 rim fire or smaller calibre, air guns;
  • Hunting animals under the influence of tranquilisers;
  • Hunting animals trapped against a fence;
  • Hunting listed large predators, rhino, elephant and crocodile with bow and arrow;
  • No traps, except for:
    • Hunting/catching marine species;
    • Collecting invertebrates for scientific purposes;
    • Trapping terrestrial vertebrates for scientific, veterinary or management purposes;
  • No dogs, except for:
    • Tracking a wounded animal;
    • Flushing, pointing and retrieving;
  • No darting, except for:
    • Management purposes, disease control procedure or scientific experiment;
    • Veterinary treatment;
    • Translocation;
  • No luring (bait, smell, sound or any other) except for:
    • Lion, leopard or hyena – dead bait;
    • Marine or aquatic species – dead bait;
    • Invertebrates for scientific purposes – dead bait;
  • No flood/spot lights, except for:
    • Culling;
    • Hunting leopard or hyena;
  • No motorised vehicles, except for:
    • When darting is required;
    • Tracking when hunting over long ranges;
    • Culling;
    • Allowing a disable person to hunt;
  • No aircraft, except for:
    • Tracking when hunting over long ranges;
    • Culling.

No hunter may sell or trade in any wild game products unless you are registered to trade in game products.

This means that all amature hunters may only hunt for own consumption. The sale of meat or dried meat or any other product is against the law.

*Download the hunting proclamation in the “download” section in the member area.


2022 Junior Hunters Mentor Hunting Competition

2022 JUNIOR HUNTER/MENTOR HUNTING COMPETITION In satisfying one of CHASA’s strategic objectives we offer the 2022 CHASA Junior Hunter/Mentor Hunting Competition, which is a hunting story and photo-based lucky draw. This competition is to give more attention to attracting junior hunters, as well as to expose them to local hunting associations and the associations hunting […]

Continue reading "2022 Junior Hunters Mentor Hunting Competition"

Become a member!